Skip to main content

How to Clean Up Unused Customizations

Strongpoint has powerful tools to analyze, organize and delete unused customizations in a safe and secure manner.

Benefits of Cleaning Up Unused Customizations

Cleaning up fields has a direct impact on system performance.  Larger records load more slowly than small ones.  When a record loads in NetSuite, the system has to formulate the SQL request, retrieve the data from the database, assemble the interface, retrieve any related list data or build the corresponding interface element (in edit mode) amongst other steps.  While these are all highly optimized, records with large field sizes will load more slowly.  There can also be impact on system performance from alerts and other searches that need to be applied on demand to data when it is being saved (particularly if there are custom SQL formulas).  The extent of the impact, however, is dependent upon the extent of the change and what else is causing performance lag.

In any event, cleaning up fields makes the account more understandable, reduces the likelihood of confusion.

The Process

There are several critical elements to this process.

  1. Analyze unused customizations & identify dependencies
  2. Create a change request, act on warnings and obtain appropriate approvals
  3. Archive field data as appropriate
  4. Back Up of Searches, Scripts and Workflows in the Customization Record
  5. Delete customizations
  6. Close the change request

Step 1: Analyze Unused Customizations & Identify Dependencies

You can organize your clean up activities by record types in order to start with larger groups of customizations before progressing to individual customizations. For example you could progress in the following order:

  • Bundles: Removing unused bundles will help eliminate large groups of records and other customizations
  • Records: Removing records will help eliminate large groups of customizations
  • Forms/Scripts: Depending on your requirements, you can move to unused forms of scripts and the fields and associated customizations to progress through your account

You can access the unused customizations tools in Clean Up under the Strongpoint tab. The results provide a list of customizations with Date Last Used of over 6 months including blanks and the default (12/31/1969) for fields.

On the right hand side, you can see the scripts, searches/mass updates and workflows that are impacted by the customizations. The diagram below shows dependent scripts.

Step 2: Create Change Requests, Act on Warnings and Obtain Appropriate Approvals

You can then group the customizations you are considering to delete and create a change request that includes those customizations.  You can do this by editing the “Create Customizations” or open an existing change request and add the customizations in the “Impacted Customizations” under “Scope”.

The Impact Analysis shown below is available in the Advanced Change Management Module. This appears as “Clean Up” or “Impact Analysis” as a tab at the bottom of the Change Request.  It provides specific warnings and status for each customization attached to the Change Request.

The Clean Up/ Impact Analysis subtab has the following elements:

  • Can be safely deleted or modified: Strongpoint will identify customizations linked to the change request that do not trigger any of the warnings below.
  • Archiving Status: Users can set the archiving status for fields to be deleted.  Archive status can have the following values:
    • Pending
    • Complete
    • Skip
    • Manually Complete
  • Cannot Be Safely Deleted or Modified: A list of the customizations linked to the change request that have triggered one of the following warnings:
    • Active Processes: this customization is linked to an active process.
    • Critical Searches: this customization is used in a formula or filter of a search and could cause the search to break if modified or deleted.  Fields that are only in criteria or results of searches do not trigger this warning since the search would still function.  Searches that haven’t been used in over a year do not trigger this warning.
    • Dependent Scripts: this customization is used in a script.
    • Recently Used: this customization has been used in the last 6 months.
    • Dependent Workflows: this customization is used in a workflow.
    • Dependent Integrations: this customization is used in an integration with another system.

Follow your organization’s change management policies and procedures as well as NetSuite's best practices to determine if it is appropriate to delete any of the customizations.

Step 3: Archive Field Data as Appropriate

Once a Change Request has been approved the “Archive Customizations” button will become available.  Once you press that button, any fields in the change request will be archived and stored in the File Cabinet.

The status of those fields will be changes to “Archived”.  That customization will then appear under the “Can be safely deleted or modified”.

Step 4: Back Up Searches, Scripts and Workflows in the Customization Record

While there is no mass un-delete functionality, critical information about scripts, searches and workflows are preserve in the Customization Record.

  • Searches: All fields, filters, criteria and other search elements are documented in the Searches subtab.
  • Scripts: A script archive file is attached to the customization record.
  • Workflow: Workflow actions, states, fields, conditions and other elements are documented in the Related Workflows subtab.

The customization record of deleted customizations are inactive and accessible for future reference.

Step 5: Delete Customizations

There are two choices for deleting customizations:

  1. You can go to the customization record and delete it manually or
  2. If you have the Advance Change Management Module, you can use the go to the “Can be safely deleted or modified” sub tab at the bottom of the change request to delete the customizations one a time. This has the same controls and warnings as when you delete the customization by going to its record.

Step 6: Close the Change Request

Once all activities are complete, mark the change request as complete.


  • Was this article helpful?